All

Germanish Adventures and Thieves

Just this last week, we had the good fortune of going to Germany and Switzerland for a friend’s wedding! I had planned to sit and sketch forests, cathedrals, and train-stops as we traversed the roads by backpack and train. So our adventure began…

giphy-1

We were 2 days in, buying food for the day at a grocery store in Zurich. My iPad wore it’s DodoCase that made it look like a notebook. She was low key, smooth, and clutched to my chest. At the bagging area, I placed her down beside me to free up my hands. She was right under my elbow, above waist height. She was there for a moment, long enough to put sandwiches, apples, and water in a bag. Only a moment.

Then, the iPad was gone.

giphy-3

As in poof. It had to be a mistake. I must have left is somewhere. Did I not just have it?

giphy-2

We searched for hours, went to the police station, went to lost and found, backtracked all our steps. Then it sank in. A gift that had become part of my every day life, my productivity in work, art, life, the device which held my sketches for my art shows, notes, stories… Stolen.

giphy

There are many like it, but that one was mine.

giphy-4

They are precious, expensive, and in some cases life-changing. Mine is password protected, Find my iPhone is active, I’ve changed all my passwords, done all the steps for this situation – but I have accepted that it is gone. I’ve had some experience with art being stolen from me, but I’m still no better at dealing with the feelings. I’ve had 3 precious painting stolen from me on separate occasions, pages from sketchbooks ripped out, etc. Each time there was a mix of confusion, betrayal, anger, then acceptance. This one was just as hard as the first time, if not harder. The real kicker is, the last backup is from 8 weeks ago. Yeah. I had so much on it, that I needed to upgrade my account for more space, which I planned to spend on after our trip.

giphy-5

However, we were 2 days into our adventure, and had so much to see and experience. So we marched on.

Our days were filled with awe and beauty. My nights filled with nightmares of thieves and stolen things. Everyday, it was a choice to remember that no matter how expensive and precious a thing, it is still just a thing. My loved ones were well. We were traveling, a luxury in itself! We were overseas, looking at really cool old shit, marveling at the world. Yes, those are swans.
image
I photographed some delights that exposed me as an immature American. Seriously, who puts “fashion outlet” on a  cow as advertisement, or a creepy clown poster to welcome us into our hotel room?

image

The amount of detail and time given to old architecture is inspiring. For example, these little men and their animal or tool were carved into the corners of building windows, just because. I think it had been turned into an office building.

image

The trip was beautiful, a delight, and filled me with inspiration for more art.  We went to Zurich, admired the Black Forest, partied in Sankt Blasien, drove with friends to Munich, rode bikes along the Isar River, and found an art store called Zumstein with an AMAZING selection of art supplies!

image
image
image
image

More photos on flickr here

We are back, going through photos and memories, and discussing getting another iPad. I’m focusing on my group show November 1st, and my Solo Show November 8th. Ain’t nobody gonna hold us down.

I hope to see you at my show! Let’s rock the rest of this year.beyonce pump awesome

2014_09_05_ipadStolenAnnouncement

2 thoughts on “Germanish Adventures and Thieves”

Leave a Reply

