All, Muertitas

Getting back into art, moving studio, no COMICON, yes solo show!

So June was a wash. I got into a car accident that gave me such bad whiplash I couldn’t even cut my own vegetables. Work was patient and supportive as I took vacation days and physical therapy. Finally I can turn my head. However, the amount I can work and the speed of it are limited – I’m recovering, and doing what I can slowly but surely.

Sadly, due to my injury I will not be showing at COMICON, and I will not be attending either. I still have some healing to do. This was a hard decision, but the right one. I will stalk the internets as people instagram, tweet, and facebook about all the wondrous happenings there. Hopefully my bittersweet voyeurism will fuel me a full year of productive art.

On top of it all, we are also moving this month! I will have my own room for a studio. Imagine, a proper door to keep our creative cats from helping me paint when I’m not looking. It also has an outdoor workshop with room for my expanding collection on tools, clays, and castings! As soon as we finish setting up I’ll post some before and after photos. This is as nerve-wracking as it is exciting – moving a studio while preparing for a show? A show?? YES READ ON!

I’ll be having my first SOLO SHOW in Burbank celebrating Dia De Los Muertos. It will be at the clothing shop 8 Ball (damn cute clothes err mah gurr!) in their Blairing Images Gallery, opening Night November 1 and open through November 30th. (Same street as Porto’s Bakery! NOM NOM!) So as more details arrive I will share.

I really need to catch up on my lost month and get to working. I’ll be making quite a few new Muertitas and paintings for the show. Ill be sharing my process across my tweets, grams, tumblings, and facebook. If you want to be updated on pre-order’s and the like, you can sign up on my mailing list.

And as a visual treat, some photos I took of spending time with the awesome family I married into. ❤

With flashlights and lazerpointers.
Light Drawing

Light Drawing

And until I get a real clamping system, my dad’s tripod will do as I work on my mini Muertitas!

Köszi Papa! ❤


Found a temporary clamping system in my tripod for my second pass at casting. Taking a break. Will continue tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Getting back into art, moving studio, no COMICON, yes solo show!”

Leave a Reply

