All

Disney tries to own Día De Los Muertos. Don’t let them.

I can’t believe I’m going to type this, because it turns my stomach.

Disney applied to trademark “Dia De Los Muertos”, since their upcoming movie is themed as such, and they want the rights to sell Día De Los Muertos themed things.

Listen, I’m a little gringa from SoCal, I love and respect the Mexican culture that surrounds me and influences my art, but you don’t need to have an affinity with a culture to understand that this is just wrong.

SIGN THIS PETITION TO STOP DISNEY FROM TRYING TO TRADEMARK DÍA DE LOS MUERTOS

Here’s a Huffington Post article about it;

Also a Latin Times article about it;

You can follow the tweets with #DíaDeMuertosEsDeMéxico (thank you Luis R.)

Image below from Fronterasdesk.org article about it;

I can’t believe this is happening.

I feel like I want to Clorox my soul.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MY EDIT ADDED WED MAY 6

Disney heard the outcry and has

 WITHDRAWN their trademark filing!

Link to FRONTERAS DESK article

Link to LA TIMES article

Visual proof Disney made good on their word, by Fronteras reporter @MOrtizUribe

1 thought on “Disney tries to own Día De Los Muertos. Don’t let them.”

  1. That was a weird thing to hear… I actually don’t think they can… the legalities of it would be too complicated and seriously hard to protect. Its just as bad as trying to copyright Christmas…

Leave a Reply

