All, Daily Sketches, Illustration, Muertitas

I finally understand “Do What You Love”

It seems like an easy thing to throw around as advice to people, “Find what you love and do that for your work, then it won’t feel like work”. This makes “If you work hard, you can achieve anything” seem like the opposite – you either work really hard to get what you want, or find something you want to do and it won’t feel like work – it was all very confusing. I took it with a grain of salt.

Being creative was satisfying, so I worked really hard to find creative work. Work I enjoyed still felt like work. WORK WORK WORK. And it felt good to have work, real good. Having money to eat well, travel, visit friends, play in and learn about nature…all these things fuel my deep love of making art. My art is the work I do when I’m on vacation. I am on VACATION, and doing my art, and its hard work, but it still feels like vacation.

Its like a lightbulb went on in my head.
This lightbulb made me want to write this post.

I get it! Hard work is still important. It finishes projects, starts new ones, and keeps me productive. But the things I do in my free time, like the coloring books, the Muertitas and stories…maybe someday I can do this stuff full time. Because even though it requires hard work, it feels like a hard-core vacation. I finally get it. Finally. And I look forward to making it happen one day. Then my weekends can really be a weekend, where I go on bikerides, play video games, read books, adventure about with friends, these all make me a better artist and storyteller.

i can do this2

i cant do this

i can do this3

On that note, sharing a Merkingdom work in progress spread with you. This is why its taking so long. I am including my love of marine biology, as told by these merpeople. So, yes, merpeeps are done, but each one is paired with a special critter which needs to be drawn and its bio written:

Merkingdom Progress 01

4 thoughts on “I finally understand “Do What You Love””

Leave a Reply

