All, Events

A Great Show At Hollywood Forever Day Of The Dead

The Event

The Dia De Los Muertos event yesterday at the Hollywood forever cemetary was incredible. I don’t think there is another venue that my Muertita heads can fit into so beautifully. It was such an honor to have their heads reverently perched in front of the Mausoleum graves, celebrating the beauty of life in the face of death. It was incredible. A special thank you to Xamanism for curating the show, taking care of payments, and making sure I was able to shake the hands of my Muertita’s new friends as they left to go to their new homes.

Not to mention, all of the Muertitas are sold! Which brings me to my next segment:

Am I Making More Muertitas?

Yes, I am making more! I have several more planned, inspired by elemental spirits of nature and bodies of water. Due to the amount of time each Muertita takes, and due to the fact I still have a full-time job, I am not in a place to take commissions at the moment. But believe me when I say it feels amazing to have so many requests!

If you woud like to be notified by email whenever a new show is going to happen, please sign up for my mailing list by clicking here.

Otherwise, I do my best to share my progress by posting photos of the steps it takes to finish a piece on my Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, and here on my blog.

Thank you to everyone who came out, my friends and family who were able to show their support, partake in tamales and Pan De Muerto as we contemplated the sadness of loss but then ending up laughing for the joys of life. All while enjoying art and the Calavera faces in the crowd. It was beautiful, and I will do my best to be able to be a part of it every year if I can.

And now, some photos! (You can click here to see full album on mah flickr)

LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDeadLaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead
LaDayOfTheDead

LaDayOfTheDead

And my favorite photo of maybe all time:
LaDayOfTheDead

2 thoughts on “A Great Show At Hollywood Forever Day Of The Dead”

Leave a Reply

