All

We will miss you, Maurice Sendak

Maurice Sendak has passed away – the man who created so many stories, like Where The Wild Things Are.

So many of us were helped raised by his stories, our world view enhanced by his choice of words, the idea that we can be brought home safely despite the efforts of terrors in the night. And maybe some terrors aren’t so terrible. His loss is acute to us who didn’t even know him, because his work was part of us, part of our path of development.

Our thoughts go out to his family, and to those who knew him. For the rest of us who were blessed to have been influenced by his work, let us remember him together.

An excerpt from this NPR interview:

“I have nothing now but praise for my life. I’m not unhappy. I cry a lot because I miss people. They die and I can’t stop them. They leave me and I love them more. … What I dread is the isolation. … There are so many beautiful things in the world which I will have to leave when I die, but I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready.”

– Maurice Sendak

Here is a blog dedicated to fan-art of Where the Wild Things Are. They have been around for a few years, and submissions are closed, but the work is wonderful.

http://www.terribleyelloweyes.com/

2 thoughts on “We will miss you, Maurice Sendak”

  1. This made me tear up, we will miss you Mr. Sendak, thank you for teaching us to be a little less afraid…of everything.

Leave a Reply

