All, Comics & Graphics, Events

First Day Ever At Wondercon

My first day. EVER! And I am still in a dreamy haze. I will be going tomorrow as well, but I simply had to post the highlights.

Wondercon: the annual comic book, science fiction, and motion picture convention. It is usually in San Francisco, but this year its being held in Anaheim, next to Disney Land – just a few hours drive from where I live and work. And drive we did! Despite the crazy wind, rain, and hydroplaning drivers, we got there safe.

Wondercon is for aspiring and established writers, artists, publishers – its an amazing collection of talent with a much more mellow and respectful-of-my-small-stature crowd than Comicon. I would be thrilled to score a booth at Wondercon, and try I will! Who knows what next year will bring.

And the best, best part was going to the Womanthology panel, then buying the Womanthology book hot off the press, in all its glorious enormity, then getting it signed by those same artists and writers who were ON the panel, and then bringing home that intense, heavy Womanthology graphic novel collection and realizing that it went beyond women collaborating to make great stories…it has articles about making your own comics from scratch, drawing tips, and interviews with established and successful female comic artists and writers. I have quite a bit of reading to do.

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Archaia Publishing had a sale – got some oldies I have had my eye on for some time:

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Got to meet “Cheeks” Sean Galloway with my friend Timothy Beard!

Wondercon 2012

And now for some choice photos: (to see them all, they are in my events flickr stream)

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Wondercon 2012

Goodnight. Looking forward to tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

