All, Good World

Joseph Kony 2012 – EDITED

One think I can thank the KONY 2012 campaign for, is igniting the internet.



Hiffington Post Article

This video is igniting awareness, which I still firmly believe is incredibly important. However, there are issues with Invisible Children and how effectively it uses the money. Take a moment to read THE DAILY WHAT and http://visiblechildren.tumblr.com/ which critizies how the money is being used, and the way the information is being presented.

Exerpt:

“Is Kony fundamentally bad, and is IC fundamentally good? Yes, absolutely. Should you support IC? If you want to, sure. Personally, I feel that other organizations focused on active aid are more productive at this stage in the conflict, but that’s your decision. I just want you to talk about it. I urge you to meet with other concerned people in your community to discuss some of the articles I link to in my article and the KONY 2012 video and decide what you want to do. Thank you.”

Here is a list of charities recommended by the Daily What that have an excellent rating for efficient use of funds:
Children Of The Nations
Africare
AMREF USA
Water.org

And now from BoingBoing:

I will keep reading, listening. I will try and spread my awareness. There is so much in this world, and I am grateful for the voices being shared.

Leave a Reply

