All

Tony DiTerlizzi is talented AND nice!!

As some of you know, I am a BIG fan Tony DiTerlizzi’s work. I got brave and decided to email him a link to my daily sketch blog. More than anything I wanted to say “Hey, I love you’re work, I love that its a style that’s so distinct and has gone mainstream, and as an artist I just wanted to share my work with someone I admire.” That’s the synopsis of my gushing email. And he wrote back!! That is something I definitely didn’t expect. I can imagine when you are an illustrator that has become as popular as him, you constantly have people gushing or telling you what they think of your work.

But here’s a piece of what he wrote:

“Thanks for the kind note – it always means a lot to hear from a fellow artist who is also a fan.
I think your work is fun and well-executed. Personally, I’d like to see more backgrounds and one character doing many things (like you would see in a children’s book).”

Totally awesome, plus constructive feedback – I’m completely wired. More backgrounds it is! So, here are some links to some of my favorite of his works:

The Spider and the Fly

Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You

Kenny and the Dragon

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

